Posted April 09, 2013 10:23 AM
Updated April 09, 2013 12:40 PM

He Had To Have Rangers Money Line

rays-rangers

With all due respect to the NCAA championship game, we start today with one of the worst calls in sports history. Last night’s Rays-Rangers game ended on a called strike three by home plate umpire Marty Foster that you just have to see to believe. (Make sure you watch the video all the way through so you can hear both teams’ radio and TV announcers say “Ball four” after the pitch is thrown.)


LOOK OUT!

Michigan and Louisville gave us a great title game that was filled with tons of action and special plays. However, the highlight of the night (besides Rick Pitino revealing that he’s getting a tattoo) was Pitino’s reaction after the game when he thought someone shot him. I recommend watching the video first and then playing the GIF on a loop.


No Google Maps?

Terry Francona is a great manager, but his sense of direction leaves something to be desired. The new Indians skipper got lost going to the team’s stadium twice yesterday. And he lives two blocks away.

Natalia Velez

Natalia Velez :: Soho.com.com

Kerry, of Birmingham, Ala., says, “Jimmy, it’s almost the end of Q1 of 2013 and I don’t believe you’ve posted Natalia Velez yet….what an injustice!” Excellent point by Kerry, so that gets fixed right now. … Lingerie model and wife of singer Michael Buble, Luisana Lopilato, has just done some new work. … Actress Bar Paly stars in the upcoming movie Pain and Gain, which is a good reason to link to this gallery. …


Fake Congratulations Are In Order

Lennay Kekua won ESPN.com’s bracket challenge game.


One Shining Moment Video Of The Day

In case you missed it last night…


Sports Video Of The Day

Cubs reliever Kyuji Fujikawa did this to himself yesterday.

Submit A Story Or Link
Your name:
Your E-mail Address:
Your Hometown:
Comment, Question, Link:
10 comments
BPFH
BPFH

"Worst MLB Call You'll Ever See"?  Worse than the blown call by Jim Joyce that robbed Armando Galarraga of a perfect game?  I don't think so.

It was bad, no question.  But it's only the "worst" because it happened to the Rays, and SI has a heavy east-coast bias.

WM36
WM36

The strike call was bad, but not one of the "worst calls" ever.  Just a mistake at a bad time.  

And as for Natalia - my oh my - maybe the best body ever!

John NoLastName
John NoLastName

And you're implying that the game was fixed because of a questionable ball-and-strike call????

That's a very serious accusation. And a huge hit on your credibility as a journalist. If that's what you consider yourself to be.

supinger
supinger

@John NoLastName Is this your first time here?

John NoLastName
John NoLastName

@supinger @John NoLastName Wow ... what an insightful question. Is this my first time here.

Incredibly relevant, too. My first time here ... amazing how that question cuts straight to the core of the matter. It has all kinds of relevance. My first time here. 

Especially when you consider that the issue at hand involved some would-be journalist making an astounding and serious accusation, based on a simple ball-and-strike call. But you, in your mild-mannered way, realized that the real issue was whether or not this was my first time here.

You should write this column!

supinger
supinger

It was a (semi)serious question. As an avid reader of this column or blog or whatever you want to call it, I knew immediately that Jimmy was joking around because that's he general tone of what he writes here. I mean 95% of what's on here is just links to other articles and videos. With all due respect to Jimmy, whom I love, I hardly think this qualifies as or tries to be journalism and certainly not serious journalism. To this point the biggest complaint I've had with it was his insistance on naming Natasha Barnard swimsuit rookie of the year over Kate Bock.

Also regarding the call itself. I have seen virtually every news/sports outlet with multiple articles talking about how bad of a call it was and the ump himself said "had I had a chance to do it again, I wouldn't call that pitch a strike." So even if you refuse to believe Jimmy was obviously joking you can't say it wasn't an awful call.

supinger
supinger

It was a (semi)serious question. As an avid reader of this column or blog or whatever you want to call it, I knew immediately that Jimmy was joking around because that's he general tone of what he writes here. I mean 95% of what's on here is just links to other articles and videos. With all due respect to Jimmy, whom I love, I hardly think this qualifies as or tries to be journalism and certainly not serious journalism. To this point the biggest complaint I've had with it was his insistance on naming Natasha Barnard swimsuit rookie of the year over Kate Bock.

Also regarding the call itself. I have seen virtually every news/sports outlet with multiple articles talking about how bad of a call it was and the ump himself said "had I had a chance to do it again, I wouldn't call that pitch a strike." So unless you refuse to believe Jimmy was obviously joking

John NoLastName
John NoLastName

Yeah, it looked outside, but I wouldn't call it a no-brainer from that angle. Hard to tell exactly where the ball crossed the plate. 

At any rate ... "one of the worst calls in sports history"??? ... come on, dude. You're missing some long-range perspective here.